March 30, 2019
Renal cell carcinoma guideline updated in Germany
The German Society for Urology (DGU) and the German Society for Hematology and Oncology (DGHO), as the leading specialist societies, have presented an updated S3 guideline "Diagnostics, therapy and aftercare of renal cell carcinoma." Experts, but also those affected and interested, are invited to submit suggestions for improvement and additional information by April 5, 2020.

Every year, around 15,400 people in Germany develop kidney cell carcinoma. With 3.6% of all male cancers, it ranks ninth of all newly diagnosed cancers in Germany. In women, it accounts for 2.3% of all new cases and is thus eleventh in the number of new cancer cases.

The renal cell carcinoma guideline was first published in 2015, and the first selective updates were made in 2017. Fifty-two (52) voluntary experts from a total of 35 specialist societies and organizations were involved in the published revision. The German Cancer Aid has taken over the creation and updating of the guideline as part of the oncology guideline program.

The most critical changes in the guideline relate, among other things, to different therapy schemes, taking into account the suitability for immune checkpoint inhibitors and second-line therapy after failure of a checkpoint inhibitor therapy. Also, a new chapter concerning third-line therapy was introduced.

The recommendations for the initiation, duration, and change of systemic therapy were also revised; also, recommendations for image control during the treatment were added.

The full details in German can be found here.

Subscribe to our newsletter delivered every second week not to miss important reimbursement information.
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By carrying on browsing, you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.

Learn more
Ok, I agree
Subscribe to newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter to get regular updates from us on the changes of reimbursement systems (>100 reimbursement stakeholders in 12 EU countries)